Comfy queen bed with good afternoon light.Please keep in mind it is a small room.
Budget Accomodation near the city
Hosted by Amanda
Amanda is the host.
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
1 bath
You won’t be charged yet

Nice sunny room in a little cottage in the heart of Newtown. We're a 30 min walk from the city centre or a short 10 min bus ride. Newtown has a lot to offer, from a weekly veggie market to restaurants and bars.
Please be aware that we have a medium dog. He's 1 and still in training. He sometimes barks when guests knock at the door, but he is friendly and relaxes afterwards.

The space

We live in a duplex, with the front of the house being occupied by our neighbours. The walls are pretty thin, so you can hear the noises from the front of the house
This accomodation is best for non-fussy travellers on a budget. For less than the price of staying in a hostel dorm, you get your own our room, some privacy and only have to share the bathroom with two other people.

The room is small, but it has a queen bed and a chest of drawers. There's also a heater in case it gets cold.
We have Wi-Fi and washer for you to use.
There's free on-street parking, perfect for travellers on a road trip.

Guest access

You're welcome to enjoy our garden, dining room, living room and kitchen. You'll have a private room, but will share the rest of the house with us, including the one bathroom.
Help yourself to whatever is in the kitchen. For breakfast you can help yourself to muesli, cereal, toast, eggs, coffee, tea and sometimes some homemade treats. If you have any preferences/restrictions, just let us know and we'll sort it out before you arrive.

Interaction with guests

We're here to make you feel welcome. If you want to now the best places to visit, eat, drink or listen to music, just let us know. We're happy to help.
We work full-time Monday to Friday, but we'd love to have a beer in the evening or share a bbq with you, if it's sunny that is.

Other things to note

We adopted our puppy Mambo when he was 4 months old. We stopped doing Airbnb once we got him to be able to train him. The first 8 reviews are from before we had Mambo.
While he's getting better everyday, he still barks when people knock on the door. We are training him to correct that. But please don't book with us if that will make you uncomfortable.
Mambo goes to work with Lucas everyday so he won't be left at home alone while we have guests. Don't worry, you won't have to look after him :)


Amenities
Heating
Free parking on premises
Breakfast
Internet

Prices
Extra people $10 NZD / night after the first guest
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn More

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 queen bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in is anytime after 1PM
Check out by 11AM

-No smoking inside the house.
-Visitors are welcome, just let us know ahead of time. Visitors are NOT allowed to stay overnight.
-Kitchen is yours to use but we ask that you please leave it like you found it.
- Remember to lock up when you leave.
- Please respect our belongings.
- We are not responsible for any injury that may happen on the property.
- Despite our love for all sorts of animals, unfortunately there are no pets allowed. It sucks and we apologise in advance.

You must also acknowledge
Dog(s) live in the house

Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit

Availability
3 nights minimum stay

10 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Klaus User Profile
October 2015
Amanda and Lucas received us in their place and we felt very welcomed. They had many little details and some big ones that made our stay memorable.

Mydsl User Profile
November 2016
I am really pleased in staying in their place. Near to stores and bus stops. Very helpful people in terms of going around the city and country. Safe place with dog. Breezy as usual in the Windy City of Wellington. I'd come back and stay there again if opportunity visiting Wellington permits in the future. Ty

Victoria User Profile
November 2016
Amanda and Lucas were great hosts. Their house is in a great spot, easy to walk or catch the bus down town. And Mambo the dog is just adorable.

Václav User Profile
December 2015
We felt very welcome at Amanda and Lucas place, the room we slept in was nice, clean and big enough, the bed was very comfortable too. Tough we have used the room just for sleeping over. The location of the accommodation was pretty good.

Annika User Profile
December 2015
I only stayed for one night with Amanda and her boyfriend but it was a nice stay there. The both are a lovely couple and I would have liked talked more with them to get to know more about their lives. They offered me a cup of tea and were just lovely hosts!

Hazel User Profile
December 2015
We didn't have much time to speak with the hosts as we arrived late and left early the next day for picton. The room was comfy and communication response via email was prompt. Host made sure we had access to what we need eg phone, bus cards, wifi which was a nice gesture.

Xin User Profile
November 2015
I had a wonderful stay in Amanda and Lucas' house, they are all open minded, relax and funny and they give us a lot of helps to make us feel at home. thank you very much!

Wellington, New ZealandJoined in June 2013
Amanda User Profile

Hello,

We are Amanda and Lucas, a Mexican chica and a Frenchman living in New Zealand. We love travelling, chocolate and cheese, of course!

Lucas is a Web Developer who spent three years in New Caledonia before making a six-month road trip throughout New Zealand.

Amanda is a language-nerd who's lived in five countries in the last five years.

We've decided to make New Zealand home for now, but still like to travel when we have the chance.

Languages: English, Español, Français

The neighbourhood

Similar listings