The studio - bedroomThe studio - bedroom
A Country Cottage in Zone 2
A Country Cottage in Zone 2
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
2 guests
1 bedroom
1 bed
2 shared baths
You won’t be charged yet

Artist's studio room of a 1840's cottage on a pedestrian lane in central London. Wooden beams, wooden floors and fireplaces. Great transport (tube, rail, overground) and Hampstead Heath - all less than 10 minutes walk. Lovely pubs and restaurants.

The space

Artist's studio room of a 1840's cottage on a pedestrian lane in central London. Cottage has wooden beams and working fireplaces. Great transport links - tube, rail and overground - and Hampstead Heath - all less than 10 minutes walk. Soho House restaurants and great pubs less than 2 minutes walk.

1840's cottage in Zone 2 - lovingly restored to give back its character. The room is my sometimes art studio.

I provide White Company sheets and two towels per week. I wash these sheets and towels and clean your room weekly. You also fresh flowers weekly and two Nespresso capsules per day included to use with the Nespresso machine. There's also a frother (you will need to provide your own milk). A variety of tea (with or without caffeine) is also available. Bubble bath is provided for use in the bath room during your stay. For storage please see guest access. Please note breakfast is NOT provided.

There is a small washing machine and dryer that may be used with prior agreement, but I do not monitor. Please note UK domestic washing machines take about 1.5 hours as do dryers. For large loads, or faster washes you can use the local launderette (about 5 minutes walk).

Guest access

Your room (with key lock).

Shared access to:
* Entrance hallway, stairs
* Big bath room (with toilet).
* Shower room / wet room (also with toilet)
* Kitchen with big butler sink.
* Use of washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, microwave, stove, bins, recycling.
* Back patio.

Limited shared access to living room if I'm in, but can eat in there at the table. If I'm not in there's a huge selection of DVDs to watch.

Your storage space includes:
Entrance hall: 1 2-pronged coat hook
Your bedroom: 2 shelves (can be more), clothes hanging area with hangers, 3 door hooks on back of door
Bathroom: 2 shelves
Shower room: 1 shelf
Kitchen: 2 shelves in fridge, 1 shelf in freezer, 2 shelves in pantry. Use of cooking implements, cutlery and some (but not all) glassware and dishes.

Interaction with guests

I sometimes work from home during the day and am home some, but not all evenings as I sometimes have prior commitments both day and night, including attending BAFTA movie screenings. Happy to give recommendations on local places to eat and go.

Other things to note

There is a very fluffy and friendly neighbourhood cat named Indigo. He often sits outside and may try to come in, but doesn't live here. He's welcome to do so if you like cats. His brother Otto (short-hair tabby) also sometimes visits.


Amenities
Internet
Wireless Internet
Kitchen
Indoor fireplace

Prices
Extra people No Charge
Cleaning Fee $39 NZD
Security Deposit $971 NZD
Weekly Discount: 17%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.
Learn more

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 sofa bed

House Rules
No smoking
Not suitable for pets
No parties or events
Not safe or suitable for children (0-12 years)
Check in time is 1PM - 5PM
Check out by 11AM

Guests
* No parties. This is a peaceful space, not a noisy one.
* Maximum of 2 guests.
* No children or infants.
* For single visitors, no additional guests / overnight visitors unless agreed in advance. They will need to provide identification in advance.
* No pets.

Respect the Space
* Be tidy. Leave spaces as you found them.
* Report breakages and damages promptly.
* Do not flush tampons or sanitary towels down toilets.
* Keep noise levels down.
* No smelly products as I have allergies.
* No smoking - non-smokers only.

Behaviour
* No illicit, illegal or irresponsible behaviour.

Safety
* Use house alarm when out or sleeping at night.
* Ensure doors and windows are closed and locked when out.


Cancellations

Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector
First aid kit
Lock on bedroom door

Availability
2 nights minimum stay

13 Reviews

Accuracy
Communication
Cleanliness
Location
Check In
Value
Sergio User Profile
October 2017
Great little room in north London, space is tidy and stylish, close to the amazing Hamstead Heath. Great to explore that beautiful side of London and well connected by tube and overground elsewhere. Maria was a great host and it was easy to communicate with. I would go back.

Alan User Profile
August 2017
It is a great place to stay and wonderful London parks nearby. Maria is a great host, socialble very helpful if you need some information or local knowledge. Would definitely recommend to others.

Jorden User Profile
July 2017
I can't rave about Maria and her home enough!! If your wondering if you should stay here, you should! My boyfriend and I were so nervous planning such a long trip (2 months) and figuring out our housing while he was in school. Maria made everything so easy for us. She is communicative, respectful, and very friendly. Her home is beautiful, well organized, and clean. She has everything you could possibly need for a long or short stay (including lots of espresso). Our room was the perfect size for the two of us with enough space to store our things. Her home is also centrally located to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, parks, etc. Maria herself was our angel! She helped us figure out the city, suggested great places to eat, and made sure we knew how everything worked so we could move around the house with ease. Like I said I can't recommend Maria's home enough! We will definitely be coming back again! :)

Allaina User Profile
May 2017
We stayed at Maria's lovely home for a long weekend getaway to London, and didn't want to leave at the end of the trip! The house is perfectly located, very accessible but idyllic and quiet at the same time. And Maria was the perfect host, making us feel completely at home, and answering our many questions about the neighborhood. It was a perfect trip and we'd definitely stay with Maria again when we're back in London.

David User Profile
May 2017
I am very hesitant to write this review because this is such a great find and, frankly, I don’t want too many people to know about. So, please keep this between us. This wonderful cottage is everything it is described to be and more; it is a gem, a real treasure. The place was a home away from home for me and I thoroughly enjoyed my two week stay. Maria is a fantastic host and we had some lovely conversations that I enjoyed. The cottage is located a short walk from a main bus route and is easily in walking distance to restaurants, pubs, shops, laundry, etc. It is perfect for one person and can work for two. I can’t recommend this more highly. Just remember one thing, I’m staying here again on my next trip to London so you better not book the place then!

Charlie User Profile
April 2017
We stayed here twice, for one week and then for two weeks. Throughout the duration of our stay Maria was considerate and helpful to us as guests. The house itself is in a great location for access to the centre of London as well as being a nice place to stay. It's a short walk away from Hampstead heath which is really nice and there's plenty to do nearby. The room is small and simple which is all you really need for a short stay in London. Would highly recommend

Victoria User ProfileVictoria is a superhost.
April 2017
Lovely home, well located and Maria was helpful during our stay.

London, United KingdomJoined in March 2014
Maria User Profile

Originally from New Mexico, USA. Now live in a little cottage in central London. Work in TV and Film. Love fitness. Also a BAFTA judge - so watch 150 films a year!

Values are passion, fun, honesty and integrity!

Languages: English, Español
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within an hour

The neighbourhood

Similar listings