Unique Historical Bavarian Home
Unique Historical Bavarian Home
16 guests
5 bedrooms
15 beds
3.5 baths
16 guests
5 bedrooms
15 beds
3.5 baths
You won’t be charged yet

A Bavarian style home that was once part of the Kona Mansion Estate. Now a large comfortable home with a huge yard. Great for a family reunion, wedding or retreat. Lots of space, well equipped, everything you need. Linen service can be arranged.

The space

A Bavarian style home that was once part of the Kona Mansion Estate. Now a large comfortable home with a huge yard. Great for a family reunion, wedding or retreat. It has everything you could want . . . Computer with high speed internet access, huge eat-in kitchen with two dining room tables, cozy living room with a wood stove, game room with pool/ping pong table and second wood stove, books and games for adults and children. There's an extra refrigerator off the kitchen. The four twin beds can be converted into two king beds. Unlimited telephone service. As with most other rental vacation properties in the area, linens are NOT provided, however a linen service can be arranged. Pets are allowed with prior written permission.

Guest access

Keys in lock box on door.

Family/kid friendly
Pets allowed

Extra people No Charge
Security Deposit $757 NZD
Weekly Discount: 15%
Always communicate through Airbnb
To protect your payment, never transfer money or communicate outside of the Airbnb website or app.

Sleeping arrangements
Bedroom 1
1 king bed
Bedroom 2
1 king bed
Bedroom 3
1 queen bed
Bedroom 4
4 single beds
Bedroom 5
4 bunk beds

House Rules
No smoking
Check-in is anytime after 2PM
Check out by 10AM
Self check-in with lockbox

Pets are allowed with prior approval. No smoking in house. House will be clean upon arrival, and you are expected to leave it the way you find it. If it is left dirty, a cleaning fee will be deducted from the security deposit.


Safety features
Smoke detector
Carbon monoxide detector

The minimum night stay for this listing varies.

24 Reviews

Check In
Jonathan User Profile
October 2017
Good stuff

Nicholas User Profile
October 2017
Great place. Big and spacious. Nice big yard...Don was very quick and direct with his responses

Dave User Profile
September 2017
Place is great for big groups. Lots of beds and spacious living areas. Great huge yard outside too!

Virgie User Profile
August 2017
This rental was not worth the cost. Yes it was large but needs some tender loving care. Needs a cleaning service. One of the 3 grills could be used after we cleaned and burnt off all the grease. Water had a terrible odor. Even when you went into bathrooms, odor was overwhelming.
Don User Profile
Response from Don:
Hi Virgie, I am so sorry about the water odor. You should have tried calling or emailing, because I never received any text message. A little over a month ago we started smelling sulfur in the water. We had never had the odor in the past 12 years or so that we have been here, so we had a well company come and treat the well. It is safe to drink, but I understand you would not want to drink it with such an odor. After the well company treated the well, we thought the problem was resolved, but apparently not according to your comments. We are having them back this week to figure out what is happening and to find a permanent solution. Also, I will show your comments to the cleaning service, and tell them they must do better or else.... Thank you for your feedback.
August 2017

Laura User Profile
August 2017
A great size space for families. Don was very responsive to emails.

Matt User Profile
June 2017
We enjoyed our stay. House had plenty of beds for our group and a good amount of activities. Nice spot for a fun weekend

WillIam User Profile
May 2017
I enjoyed the house, the posting shows that it includes more beds then actually does. The house itself was very old, the electric frequently goes out in various areas. It is further from the water then some of the pictures display. Overall it is close to what expected.
Don User Profile
Response from Don:
I guess some people have a hard time counting. The beds in the posting are listed exactly as what is in the house. No more, no less. Namely 2 King beds, 1 queen bed, 4 twin beds and 4 bunk beds. So with 2 people in both king beds and the queen bed, there are beds to accommodate 18 people. Yes, the house is very old, it was once part of the Kona Mansion Estate. It was originally the hay loft for the estate, but it has had many renovations over the years, and that is part of the charm of the house. The electric only goes out, when there is a power outage in the area. We were notified by text from the electric company about the outage in the area over Memorial Day weekend. It was a wide area outage, not just parts of the house as the renter has conveyed. The posting says it is a two minute walk to the lake. There are no pictures depicting the proximity to the water, so how can it be "further from the water than some of the pictures display?" The pictures show the public access area to the lake, which is a two minute walk from the house. And are provided to show that it is not a beach area. Beach passes to the public beach (5 miles away) are provided to renters during the summer season.
May 2017

Joined in February 2013
Don User Profile
Response rate: 100%
Response time: within a few hours

About the home

When you stay in an Airbnb, you’re staying in someone’s home.

This is Don’s place.
Randy helps host.

The neighbourhood

Similar listings